The Incident Board.

Documented AI security incidents.

Case 13AI developer platforms / stored keys

At least nine AI developer platforms disclosed security incidents in October 2026, several exposing stored AI keys

Nine AI developer platforms disclosed separate security incidents in October. Vendors reported exposure or possible exposure of stored AI keys; no reviewed evidence establishes one attacker or campaign.

Affected system
Fireworks AI, Andromeda, Zeabur, Lightning AI, OpenCode, Railway, Warp, Command Code and Northflank; stored customer credentials
Case status
Investigations open
Sources checked

Overview

During October 2026, at least nine companies that host or build tools for AI developers disclosed security incidents, by the count of security vendor Wiz: Fireworks AI, Andromeda, Zeabur, Lightning AI, OpenCode, Railway, Warp, Command Code and Northflank. The events matter because many of these platforms hold their customers' keys to paid AI services and cloud accounts, so one intrusion can expose credentials that belong to many other organizations. This record documents a pattern of separate disclosures. No evidence reviewed here establishes one attacker or one campaign: Wiz writes that "there is no single vulnerability or dependency linking these attacks," and BleepingComputer reports that Wiz has not confirmed one set of attackers. The case is open, and most vendors describe their investigations as ongoing or preliminary. Record updated November 2, 2026. The provisional impact rating is Serious (3/4). Zeabur says its logs show that an attacker queried 3,218,965 environment-variable records, read data associated with 321,810 accounts, and signed in with root privileges to 101 customer servers used by 92 users. Those vendor-reported findings demonstrate third-party compromise and sensitive-data access, which directly meet the Serious rating. They do not independently demonstrate widespread or severe harm across this grouped record because the figures use different units, Zeabur supplies the scale without an outside audit, the account figure has no published denominator, and no evidence establishes one campaign across the nine incidents. Draft prepared November 1, 2026. (Wiz; BleepingComputer; Zeabur)

Reported impact

The figures below come from different companies and use different units (records, accounts, workspaces, users). They cannot be added together, and customers may overlap.

  • Zeabur says an attacker read 3,218,965 environment-variable records (names and values) and account data for 321,810 accounts, signed in as root on 101 Google Cloud servers (92 users, in its table), and ran commands inside 865 user database services, though not every command succeeded. Its logs record commands and not their output, so the amount taken from each database is unconfirmed. (Zeabur)
  • Railway says at most 1.85% of workspaces, about 100,000, "had some environment variables potentially compromised." That is an upper bound, because Railway cannot identify which keys were decrypted. (Railway)
  • Northflank told all customers to assume environment variables were decrypted and says users have reported unauthorized use of AI keys. It has published no customer count. (Northflank)
  • OpenCode says 1.4% of Console users were affected; Warp estimates "roughly 1%" of users may have been. OpenCode has not said how many users 1.4% represents. BleepingComputer notes Warp's site claims at least 800,000 users, but Warp has given no count of those affected. (OpenCode; BleepingComputer on Warp)

Wiz's published downstream telemetry covers two enterprise keys. Other vendors and users reported additional key abuse, but the reviewed sources do not provide a verified total number of abused keys. Wiz says it saw about 2.5 million Amazon Bedrock calls across the two (about 800,000 over 30 hours; about 1.7 million over 13 hours), which it estimates "likely ran up over $100k" at list price. Wiz attributes both keys to one of the vendor breaches but does not name the vendor. (Wiz)

Other harm claims are anecdotal, and Wiz labels them that way. They include an alleged theft of about $371,000 in cryptocurrency using keys stored on Railway, reported by researcher Taylor Monahan, and user reports of unauthorized charges on keys saved in OpenCode. The original source set documented amounts from hundreds of dollars to about $1,700; a later secondary tracker collected unverified reports ranging from about $65 to about $3,000. Railway has not confirmed the cryptocurrency theft in the material reviewed, this research did not trace the transactions, and OpenCode has not confirmed the individual bill amounts. (Monahan; Parsons; BleepingComputer on OpenCode; ctxsec)

What happened

An environment variable is a named setting that a platform hands to running software, and developers commonly use them to store passwords and API keys. An API key works like a password for a paid service: whoever holds a copy can run billable requests until the issuer revokes it. Using stolen keys to run or resell AI access is known as LLMjacking. Across October, these platforms each disclosed an intrusion or suspected intrusion. What each company itself said is set out below, and the entries differ widely in detail.

Vendor and dates Root cause, as the vendor states it What the vendor says was accessed Key abuse, per the vendor Agent-driven attack reported?
Fireworks AI: identified Oct. 6, bulletin Oct. 9 "unauthorized use of internal Fireworks credentials"; how they were obtained is not stated Environment variables, including API keys and tokens stored as secrets, in evaluation jobs of a limited number of accounts. No evidence detected of access to models, datasets, training data, personal information or inference traffic Not stated. Still reviewing calls made with exposed credentials Not in the bulletin. Lin Qiao, in an X reply: "From the behavior, it seems agentic."
Andromeda: began about Oct. 9, identified Oct. 13, published Oct. 20 "we have not yet established the root cause" "certain Andromeda and customer credentials" in a limited number of accounts. No evidence detected of access to models, datasets or training data Not stated No. Calls it part of "an industry-wide attack"
Zeabur: Oct. 14 to 15, report Oct. 19 Long-lived admin credentials "stored in plaintext" and usable from the public internet. How the attacker got them "cannot be confirmed"; a link to Zeabur's August breach is a stated hypothesis Figures in Reported impact above, plus about 53 production secrets, including a GitHub App private key One OpenAI key used for about 1,107 image requests, labeled a hypothesis. Attacker calls to Amazon Bedrock with Zeabur's own AWS keys all failed No claim in the report
Lightning AI: identified Oct. 15 "certain customer credentials were compromised"; how is not stated Customer environments and connected third-party services, on Studio platform services; GPU rental and managed services excluded Not stated No
OpenCode: night of Oct. 16, disclosed Oct. 17 A legacy system, per The Hacker News on the company's statement; entry route not stated Third-party AI keys saved in hosted Console by 1.4% of Console users. The company's wording is that keys "may have been exposed." The app and command-line tool are excluded No statement that keys were copied or used, per The Hacker News, though refunds are "underway" Co-founder Dax Raad: "we basically need agents going 24/7 because that's what they have"
Railway: Oct. 20 to 22, disclosed Oct. 21 Privilege escalation in build infrastructure, then access to credentials for its CI (automated build) system; exploit details withheld An unauthorized query of encrypted environment variables, with a subset decrypted. At most about 100,000 workspaces. Says no user accounts were logged into; source-code access not ruled out Not confirmed. An Oct. 26 FAQ explains how to seek refunds for "fraudulent AI spend" The word "agent" is not used. Says the actor "had access to abliterated models" (models with safety controls removed) and substantial compute
Warp: aware Oct. 23, statement Oct. 26 Exploitation of an unnamed vendor in Warp's infrastructure Agent logs and telemetry; roughly 1% of users may be affected. Warp has not said whether these held credentials, per BleepingComputer Not reported Yes: "an agent swarm," as quoted by BleepingComputer
Command Code: Oct. 28 Not stated. Command Code said only that the incident was "linked to a large-scale distillation attack targeting Anthropic and OpenAI models" Not stated. It revoked all API keys as a precaution and said it had found no evidence so far that any users were impacted (VibeIncidents transcribing the post) No user impact found so far, according to Command Code Not stated
Northflank: Oct. 30 Not disclosed "Assume all environment variables have been decrypted" "Users have reported unauthorised use of AI API keys" No

Whether these are one record is a framing decision. This record groups them because they share a category of victim and a publicly described target, and it treats each as a separate event unless evidence ties them together. The links found so far are partial. Two IP addresses appear in both Zeabur's report and Wiz's list of addresses seen checking or using stolen keys (23.106.46.239 and 31.57.201.201), and Northflank says "similar IP addresses" appear in Wiz's report. Zeabur warns that addresses may be shared by proxy services, that "matching IPs alone cannot confirm it was the same person," and that the link between 31.57.201.201 and its incident "cannot be confirmed." Wiz writes of its indicators: "We do not have evidence that links them directly to the “Black October” attacks mentioned in this blog." Railway says it was part of "a series of attacks," and Andromeda calls its incident "industry-wide." Neither publishes the basis. The root causes the vendors do state differ, and Warp's account involves logs and telemetry rather than stored keys. (Zeabur; Wiz; Northflank; Railway; Andromeda)

Wiz is the main source for the pattern and has commercial and operational interests in it. It sells security products, and its site carries the label "Now part of Google Cloud." Northflank's timeline begins with a Wiz alert and records a request for Wiz incident support. Wiz's article points its customers to advisories, one labeled "overall campaign," that require a login. Its subhead calls the events "A series of agentic attacks." In four places its summary goes further than the vendor text reviewed:

  • Wiz says Fireworks, OpenCode and Warp "reported indications of an “agent swarm” attack." Of the three posts it links, only Warp's account, as BleepingComputer quotes it, uses that phrase.
  • Wiz says "All public reports" describe hunting stored environment variables with a focus on AI access. Warp reports logs and telemetry, and Andromeda, Lightning AI and Fireworks do not state an AI focus.
  • Wiz calls Zeabur's report a "full write-up." Zeabur titles it preliminary.
  • Wiz says Zeabur is shutting down "due to this incident." Zeabur gives several reasons (see Consequences).

"Agent swarm" and "distillation" are the vendors' own characterizations. No vendor reviewed has published technical evidence for either. Distillation means training a cheaper model on a stronger model's answers. Railway, OpenCode and Command Code tie their incidents to it. TechCrunch reports that OpenCode did not explain the connection and that some skeptics called the framing an overstretch; researcher Nathan Lambert questioned why key theft would be grouped under that term. Wiz describes token use in its two cases as resembling "resold coding-agent traffic," and one resale site it examined had a page for detecting distillation by its users. (TechCrunch; Lambert; Wiz)

The Cloud Security Alliance published a note on October 23 covering Fireworks, OpenCode and Railway. It says "No vendor has publicly linked these incidents to a single actor," and treats the shared structure as more useful to defenders than attribution. Anthropic's September threat report had already described AI keys stolen from enterprise software vendors and one actor attacking roughly thirty AI companies in about four days. That report predates these disclosures, names none of the nine vendors in the section reviewed, and claims no link to them. (CSA; Anthropic)

"Black October" is also used more broadly in the press, for PHP vulnerabilities and other hacks and, in the New York Post, the Binance theft. This record covers only the nine platform disclosures. (The Guardian; 404 Media; New York Post)

How the boundary failed

Customer stores an AI key or other secret on a platform
  → platform keeps it for running software (environment variable or saved key)
  → attacker gains platform-side access [route differs by vendor]
       Zeabur:     plaintext admin credentials (source unconfirmed) → clusters,
                   secrets service → platform database
       Railway:    build-system privilege escalation → CI credentials → decryption
       Fireworks:  internal credentials → evaluation-job variables
       OpenCode:   legacy Console system (entry route unknown)
       Lightning:  customer credentials (how obtained unknown)
       Warp:       outside vendor → agent logs, telemetry [no key theft reported]
       Andromeda, Command Code, Northflank: route not published
  → stored secrets are read [confirmed by Zeabur and Railway; believed by Fireworks;
    assumed by Northflank]
  → stolen key is tested, then abused or resold [seen by Wiz in two cases; otherwise
    reported by users or inferred]

Two boundaries are at issue. The first is the one between a platform's internal systems and the secrets it stores for customers. Zeabur gives the fullest account of how that failed: admin tokens with no expiry, created in January 2024 and left out of its post-August rotation, an admin interface reachable from the internet, and backups containing all secrets. Railway says its design limited exposure but that CI credentials let the attacker decrypt a subset. The mechanism for Andromeda, Command Code and Northflank is unknown.

The second boundary is the one between the platform and the company that issued the key. A key copied from a platform keeps working elsewhere until the issuer revokes it. Fireworks told customers that removing a stored secret "does not invalidate the underlying credential," and The Hacker News reports that OpenCode's Console budget cannot cap use of a copied key because Console only sees its own traffic. The diagram groups the vendors for comparison and does not show one attacker moving between them. (Zeabur; Railway; Fireworks; The Hacker News)

Consequences

Zeabur's shutdown. Zeabur is shutting down, and the October incident is a stated reason but not the only one. Founder Yuanlin Lin's October 17 notice says services begin stopping December 1 and end by December 31. It lists slowing growth as AI makes deployment easier, an architecture that had become hard to maintain, and two security incidents that "made the shortcomings in our security and operations even clearer." It then says: "Following this latest incident, we reassessed what it would take to keep operating and the responsibilities our team could carry. We ultimately decided to wind down." Zeabur's incident report calls the shutdown "an operational decision." iThome reports the same reasons and notes the notice does not address investors. No financial records were available to test the account. Wiz's "due to this incident" shortens this. (Shutdown notice; Zeabur report; iThome)

Customers. Zeabur, Railway, Northflank, Fireworks, OpenCode and Lightning AI all asked some or all customers to replace credentials, work that falls on those customers and is not measured in any source. Railway asked key issuers to revoke keys broadly, so some users saw revocations without being affected; it paused builds and new signups but says running services stayed online. Lightning AI's platform was closed to all users from October 16, with read-only Drive access restored October 28 and other services still pending in its latest update. Some OpenCode users reported that Google suspended their projects. (Railway; Lightning AI; BleepingComputer)

Limits. Total financial loss, the number of abused keys, and the share of exposed credentials used for resale or for distillation are unknown. Exposed credentials also covered services other than AI: Zeabur said 602 of 607 n8n instances it checked kept their encryption key in an environment variable, and Railway advised customers to check GitHub and registry logs. No source reviewed reports the follow-on effects at those customers. (Zeabur; Railway)

Vendor response

All nine vendors acknowledged an incident in some form. These are announced actions; their effectiveness has not been independently checked.

  • Fireworks revoked internal credentials and affected keys, including keys it identified as created by the actor, notified affected customers directly and is working with an outside firm. (Fireworks)
  • Andromeda disabled compromised accounts, rotated affected keys and engaged outside forensic teams. (Andromeda)
  • Zeabur revoked or rotated the credentials used, signed out all users, and accepts loss claims through November 30. It also corrected its August statement that all internal admin keys had been disabled or rotated, calling it "incomplete." (Zeabur; Claims notice)
  • Lightning AI revoked identified credentials, closed the platform, is working with an outside firm and advised all users to rotate secrets. (Lightning AI)
  • OpenCode emailed affected users and says refunds are underway. (OpenCode; Raad)
  • Railway halted builds, notified GitHub, GitLab, Anthropic, OpenAI, OpenRouter, SpaceXSI, Stripe and others, rolled keys, moved to single-tenant builders and promised a final report. It says it cannot refund AI spend made with stolen keys but will escalate requests to providers. (Railway)
  • Warp notified affected users and engaged CrowdStrike, per BleepingComputer. (BleepingComputer)
  • Command Code revoked all API keys. (Command Code)
  • Northflank patched network policy, requested Wiz incident support, enabled secret rotation by add-on type and turned on audit logs for all customers. Its status page still read "Identified" when retrieved on November 2 UTC, and BleepingComputer's questions had gone unanswered at publication. (Northflank; BleepingComputer)

Key issuers responded to OpenCode's incident in posts on X that TechCrunch cites as their responses. Anthropic's Lydia Hallie said it "revoked Claude API keys we believe were affected," Google's Evan Otero said it blocked exposed keys, and OpenAI's Tibo said credits drawn in the attack would be refunded and pointed to its Daybreak Blue defensive program. Raad said AI models used in the investigation "started refusing" mid-incident before OpenCode received that access. (Anthropic staff; Google staff; OpenAI staff; Raad; TechCrunch)

Official oversight

Checked November 1, 2026 (Pacific time; November 2 UTC) for the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom (Northflank Ltd is in London) and Taiwan (iThome describes Zeabur as a Taiwanese platform; its terms name Zeabur Inc., a Delaware company). Searched names included the vendors and the legal entities Anomaly Innovations, Denver Technologies, Langbase and Andromeda Cluster. (Northflank terms; Zeabur terms; iThome)

Authority Action on this incident Status / basis Next step Official source
U.S. CISA; FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center No incident-specific public action found in the listed pages as of November 1, 2026. Listing pages only. CISA's advisories page ran through October 30; IC3 listings ran into late October. FBI press pages returned HTTP 403 and were not read. Recheck for an advisory or alert naming these platforms. CISA advisories; CISA news; IC3 PSAs; IC3 alerts
California and New York attorneys general No incident-specific public action or breach listing found in the listed pages as of November 1, 2026. California's list ran through October 29; New York's press page through October 29. Filings can lag. Maine's page gave no usable list; Massachusetts returned HTTP 403; FTC URLs tried returned HTTP 404. Recheck breach lists for the named entities. California AG; New York AG
ENISA, EDPB, CERT-EU, European Commission, Irish DPC No incident-specific public action found in the listed pages as of November 1, 2026. Listing pages only. Which EU data authority, if any, leads on each vendor was not established. Recheck after vendors publish final reports. ENISA; EDPB; CERT-EU; Commission; Irish DPC
UK ICO; UK NCSC Not established. A web search surfaced no ICO statement on Northflank as of November 1, 2026. ICO pages returned HTTP 403, and NCSC pages returned too little text to search. This is a search limit and not a finding of no action. Ask the ICO whether Northflank filed a report. No official page could be read.
Taiwan: TWCERT/CC, Ministry of Digital Affairs No incident-specific public action found on the pages read as of November 1, 2026. Home and notice pages only. The Personal Data Protection Commission page and NICS site returned too little text to search. Whether Taiwanese law applies to Zeabur Inc. was not established. Ask Zeabur which authorities it notified. TWCERT/CC; MODA
Unnamed authorities (vendor statements only) Railway says it engaged "the authorities" and has "been acknowledged as critical cyber infrastructure." BleepingComputer reports that Warp informed law enforcement. Vendor statements. No agency is named and no official confirmation was found. Identify the agencies and any case. No official source; Railway; BleepingComputer

General policy, not a response to these incidents: GDPR Article 33 generally requires a controller to notify the competent supervisory authority without undue delay and, where feasible, within 72 hours after becoming aware of a personal data breach, unless the breach is unlikely to create a risk to individuals' rights and freedoms. A notification made after 72 hours must include reasons for the delay. Whether any vendor filed is unknown.

What remains open

Established in this record

Nine vendors acknowledged incidents in October 2026 in their own statements. Zeabur has given a detailed log-based account of large-scale reading of secrets and account data; Railway has acknowledged decrypted secrets within an upper bound; Northflank has told all customers to assume decryption and relayed user reports of key abuse. Wiz reports two downstream abuse cases from its own telemetry. Zeabur is winding down for several stated reasons. No source reviewed establishes one attacker. (Zeabur; Railway; Northflank; Wiz)

Still unknown

Are any of these incidents connected by operator, tooling or stolen credentials, beyond the shared IP addresses, which Zeabur and Wiz both caution about? Were AI agents actually driving these intrusions, and were stolen keys used for distillation, as vendors have said without publishing evidence? Which vendor do Wiz's two cases trace to, and how many keys were abused overall? How did attackers enter Northflank, Andromeda and Command Code, and how did they obtain Zeabur's credentials? Did the crypto theft alleged at Railway come from this breach?

Next reporting step

Seek Railway's promised final report, any Northflank post-incident report, Zeabur's GitHub records on the August downloads, a primary-source Command Code follow-up with technical scope, and Wiz's vendor attribution and login-only advisories. Ask named regulators whether notifications were filed. No outreach has been sent.

Record updates

  • November 2, 2026: Initial source-checked record published as IB–2026–013. Read vendor reports from Fireworks, Andromeda, Zeabur, Lightning AI, Railway and Northflank in full. OpenCode, Warp and Command Code were read through X posts and press, and the X text for each was cut off by the embed endpoint. Wiz's login-only advisories, Axios and Dealroom could not be read; several official pages were blocked or unusable. Impact figures are vendor-reported and unaudited.

How we assess impact

The four-step scale is an editorial assessment of documented impact, not a technical vulnerability score or a probability forecast. Each brief explains its rating; unknown impact is not counted as zero harm.

  1. 1 / LimitedA bounded failure with no demonstrated external impact.
  2. 2 / MaterialDisruption or unintended changes outside the intended task.
  3. 3 / SeriousThird-party compromise or sensitive-data access.
  4. 4 / CriticalDemonstrated widespread or severe harm.

Source counts measure linked documents, not independent corroborations. Case IDs identify this publication’s records.

Read our methodology